MMBHA – 2023 AGM

Hello Members of Metro Minor Ball Hockey Association (MMBHA),


MMBHA will be holding its 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Tuesday, September 19, 2023 at the Scandinavian Community Centre starting at 7:00 pm.  If you are a member of MMBHA who is in good standing, we strongly encourage you to attend.   A member includes parents or guardians of players currently registered (note this only includes players registered for this past 2023 season) with fees paid in full and a completed registration form, and elected and appointed officials, adult referees and coaches.


Preregistration for the AGM is strongly recommended. To pre-register, please go to this link:

Otherwise, registration on the day of the AGM will commence at the Scandinavian Community Centre at 6:15 pm.  Only those members who meet the eligibility criteria, and current MMBHA directors, will be allowed to attend the AGM.  We will review all individuals who wish to attend AGM.  This review may include verification of identification and membership status before permitting individuals to attend the AGM.


Attached is the Notice of Annual General Meeting (Notice).  As outlined in the Notice, the meeting will receive and consider MMBHA’s 2023 Financial Statements, elect MMBHAs directors for the next year, and consider a Special Resolution to adopt a new Constitution and By-Laws for MMBHA (see attached).   Please note that under MMBHA’s current bylaws, a quorum at a members’ meeting consists of 50% of MMBHA’s eligible members.  If quorum is not met at the AGM, then a non-binding vote will be held at the meeting regarding the proposed Constitution and By-Laws and the election of directors, and the current directors will cause the results of that vote to be carried forward and applied in a properly constituted annual general meeting of the remaining MMBHA members held later in 2023 (when most current MMBHA members will have, under MMBHA’s current bylaws, ceased to be MMBHA members).

In addition, the following documents are also attached for review by members.



  • Notice of Agreed Statement concerning a recent legal action involving Shannon Kaustinen, Dino Calogero, Stacey Colegero, Luciano DiMarino, James Nedila and Derek Matthew Young (Petitioners) and MMBHA.



Finally, set out below is information on the nomination process for the MMBHA’s new Board of Directors.  As all of the current directors of MMBHA are expected to resign at the conclusion of the AGM, there will be significant turnover on the Board and a chance for a new group of directors to lead and help MMBHA grow and succeed.


Nominations are being accepted for the following Board of Director positions:


  1. President
  2. Vice President (1st), Risk Management
  3. Vice President (2nd), Co-Ed Programs (U7-U13)
  4. Vice-President (3rd), Co-Ed Programs  (U15-U21)
  5. Vice-President (4th), Female Programs
  6. Treasurer
  7. Secretary
  8. Director of Coaching
  9. Director of Officiating


For the AGM, and as agreed to with the Petitioners involved in the legal action mentioned above, Angela Yadav will serve as Chair of the meeting.   Angela Yadav is a lawyer and MMBHA voting member who volunteered her time as U9 Peanut Division Lead this past season. As AGM Chair, Ms. Yadav will be accepting names of those voting members who may be interested in nominating themselves for election to the MMBHA Board of Directors.  A voting member is qualified to become a director of MMBHA if that voting member:


  • is at least 18 years of age;
  • is not an undischarged bankrupt;
  • has never been convicted of fraud; and
  • is not mentally incompetent.


Any voting member who is interested in putting their name forward for election should email Ms. Yadav at with a written submission of no more than 500 words setting out their name, bio, the name of position they want to run for, and why they want to run for the position, by no later than Tuesday, September 12, 2023 at 7:00 pm (the Submission Deadline).  A voting member may be nominated for only one director position.  The AGM Chair will assemble the names and submissions of nominees who have responded by the Submission Deadline, and email this information to the members at least 5 days in advance of the AGM.  Nominations from the floor at the AGM are strongly discouraged.  


In the interest of transparency, please note that the AGM Chair, Angela Yadav, is planning to put her name forward for election as Vice President (1st), Risk Management.


If more than one voting member has been nominated to any single director position, each of those nominated members will be permitted to speak for no more than two minutes at the AGM. Voting for all contested director positions will be done by secret ballot, and a scrutineer will count the votes in private.  If only one voting member is nominated to a single director position, that member will be deemed to be elected to that position by acclamation.


If you have any questions, please email the AGM Chair, Angela Yadav, at